Thursday, November 01, 2012

2012 Debut Author Challenge - November 2012 Debuts

There are 3 debuts for November Please note that I use the publisher's publication date in the United States, not copyright dates or non-US publication dates.

The November debut authors and their novels are listed in alphabetical order by author (not book title or publication date). Pick one or more and let us know in the comments which one(s) you'll be reading. If I've missed any, let me know in the comments.

Take a good look at the covers. Voting for your favorite November cover for the 2012 Debut Author Challenge Cover Wars will take place later this month.

The Colony
Author:  A.J. Colucci 
Publisher:  Thomas Dunne Books, November 13, 2012
Format:  Hardcover and eBook, 304 pages
Price:  $24.99 (print)
Genre:  Fictionalized Science
ISBN:  9781250001290 (print)

A series of gruesome attacks have been sweeping New York City. A teacher in Harlem and two sanitation workers on Wall Street are found dead, their swollen bodies nearly dissolved from the inside out. The predator is a deadly supercolony of ants--an army of one trillion soldiers with razor-sharp claws that pierce skin like paper and stinging venom that liquefies its prey.

The desperate mayor turns to the greatest ant expert in the world, Paul O’Keefe, a Pulitzer Prize–winning scientist in an Armani suit. But Paul is baffled by the ants. They are twice the size of any normal ant and have no recognizable DNA. They’re vicious in the field yet docile in the hand. Paul calls on the one person he knows can help destroy the colony, his ex-wife Kendra Hart, a spirited entomologist studying fire ants in the New Mexico desert. Kendra is taken to a secret underground bunker in New York City, where she finds herself working side by side with her brilliant but arrogant ex-husband and a high-ranking military officer hell-bent on stopping the insects with a nuclear bomb.

When the ants launch an all-out attack, Paul and Kendra hit the dangerous, panic-stricken streets of New York, searching for a coveted queen. It’s a race to unlock the secrets of an indestructible new species, before the president nukes Manhattan.

A.J. Colucci's debut novel is a terrifying mix of classic Michael Crichton and Stephen King. A thriller with the highest stakes and the most fascinating science, The Colony does for ants what Jaws did for sharks.

Author:  Nancy Northcott
Series:  Protector
Publisher:  Grand Central Publishing , November 6, 2012 (eBook)
December 18, 2012 (Trade Paperback)
Price:  $2.99 (eBook), $17.99 (print)
Format:  Trade Paperback and eBook, 384 pages
Genre:  Paranormal Romance
ISBN:  9781455598878 (print)


As the Collegium council's top sheriff of the southeastern United States, Valeria Banning doesn't just take her job seriously, she takes it personally. So when a notorious traitor wanted by the authorities suddenly risks his life to save hers, she has to wonder why.


As a mage, Griffin is sworn to protect innocents from dark magic, which is how he finds himself fighting side by side with the beautiful Valeria Banning. But when the council finds out the two have been working together, they're both left running for their lives-from the law, the threat of a ghoul takeover, and a possible Collegium mole.

Author:  Dave Swavely
Series:  Peacer
Publisher:  Thomas Dunne Books, November 13, 2012
Format:  Hardcover and eBook, 272 pages
Price:  $24.99 (print)
Genre:  Science Fiction/Thriller
ISBN:  9781250001498 (print)
(Fiction Debut)

Minority Report meets Blade Runner as a man must solve his daughter's murder only to find that the trail leads right back to himself in Dave Swavely's Silhouette, the first of The Peacer Series

A post-quake San Francisco is ruled by a private corporation called the Bay Area Security Service. Its founder, Saul Rabin, is revered by many as the savior of the city, but by others he is feared and loathed as a fascist tyrant. And because of the cutting-edge antigravity technology being developed by his company, this controversial figure is about to become the most powerful man in the world.

To his protégé, Michael Ares, the old man is a mysterious benefactor whom he respects and admires. But when Michael's daughter and best friend are brutally murdered, he follows a trail of evidence that leads dangerously close to home. Closer than he could ever imagine.

A future world of aerocars, net glasses, and neural cyberware provides the backdrop for this timeless tale of good and evil, revenge and love, infamy and destiny. Fans of Blade Runner and Ghost in the Shell will love this page-turner filled with thought-provoking images of dark shapes which, despite their pain and power, could never blot out the light that surrounds them.

1 comment:

  1. I was lucky enough to read an early copy of the Northcott debut. That's a fantastic first release in the genre. The paranormal world in this novel is not like anything I've seen before. Northcott has spent a lot of time with science fiction and high fantasy, and that has paid off for us in this book. Plus, her characters made me cry, and that doesn't happen too often in books for me. So I'll be reading this one again. I want my own copy on my kindle. And for a straight, female romance reader, what can you say to a cover like that except "oh, YEAH."