Friday, February 05, 2016

What's Up for the Debut Author Challenge Authors? - Part 40

This is the fortieth in a series of updates about formerly featured Debut Author Challenge authors and their 2015 works published since the last update and any upcoming works for 2016. The year in parentheses after the author's name is the year she/he was featured in the Debut Author Challenge.

This Update includes covers that have recently been revealed (by the author or publisher) for books already mentioned in a previous update and/or new books.

Part 1 herePart 11 herePart 21 herePart 31 here
Part 2 herePart 12 herePart 22 herePart 32 here
Part 3 herePart 13 herePart 23 herePart 33 here
Part 4 herePart 14 herePart 24 herePart 34 here
Part 5 herePart 15 herePart 25 herePart 35 here
Part 6 herePart 16 herePart 26 herePart 36 here
Part 7 herePart 17 herePart 27 herePart 37 here
Part 8 herePart 18 herePart 28 herePart 38 here
Part 9 herePart 19 herePart 29 herePart 39 here
Part 10 herePart 20 herePart 30 here

Stephen Blackmoore (2012)

Dirty Deeds
Heroes Reborn - Book 3
Bastei Entertainment, November 20, 2015
eBook, 76 pages

When a veteran Federal agent begins investigating the involvement of a ruthless Los Angeles Police Department detective in the death of an Evolved Human, she gets close to uncovering a dangerous truth that could cost him everything: his job, his freedom, maybe even his life.

The third in the "Heroes Reborn" event series of six short thrillers based on the fascinating characters and rich mythology of NBC's world-wide hit TV series "Heroes", and the highly anticipated "Heroes Reborn". The new season picks up five years after the finale of the original series and finds those with special powers in a precarious and dangerous world where they are feared, persecuted and attacked.

Stephen Blackmoore is the author of the urban fantasy thriller, "City of The Lost," as well as the Eric Carter "Necromancer" series. He is also the author of a "Wasteland" video game tie-in novella, a "Gods & Monsters" tie-in novel, and "Khan of Mars."

Heroes Reborn: Collection One
David Bishop, Timothy Zahn, Stephen Blackmoore
Titan Books, March 29, 2016
Mass Market Paperback and eBook, 304 pages


A year after the fateful events of the Odessa Summit, the world is a very different place. It’s certainly no longer friendly for Evolved Humans—or “Evos”—who are held responsible for what happened. If the government doesn’t find you, there are some tenacious and merciless Evo-hunters out there who will.

Based on Tim Kring’s original drafts of the script for the season premiere of Heroes Reborn and includes content not seen in the TV show.


As the number of Evolved Humans increases, so does the pressure from the governments and people of the world. Father Mauricio begins searching for a way to help all Evos after befriending a troubled teenager who possesses a devastating secret. As a priest, it is Father Mauricio’s calling to protect the innocent and this includes the Evos who, by no fault of their own, find their lives and freedom being threatened.


A veteran Federal agent begins investigating the involvement of ruthless Los Angeles Police Department detective James Dearing in the death of an Evolved Human. But when she gets close to uncovering a dangerous truth, it could cost him everything: his job, his freedom, maybe even his life.


Deborah Blake (2014)

Dangerously Charming
A Broken Riders Novel 1
Berkley, October 4, 2016
Mass Market Paperback and eBook, 304 pages

From the author of the Baba Yaga novels, a brand new series set in the same “addicting”* world, filled with wild magic, enchanting damsels, and the irresistibly daring men who serve the Baba Yagas…

The Riders are three immortal brothers who protect the mythical Baba Yagas. But their time serving the witches has ended—and their new destinies are just beginning…

Ever since a near-fatal mistake stripped Mikhail Day and his brothers of their calling to be Riders, Day has hidden from his shame and his new, mortal life in a remote cabin in the Adirondack mountains. But when a desperate young woman appears on his doorstep, he cannot resist helping her—and cannot deny how strongly he’s drawn to her…

For generations, women in Jenna Quinlan’s family have been cursed to give up their first born child to the vengeful fairy Zilya. When Jenna finds herself unexpectedly pregnant, she is determined to break her family’s curse and keep her baby, even if it means teaming up with a mysterious and charismatic man with demons of his own…

To unravel the curse, Jenna and Day will have to travel deep into the Otherworld. But the biggest challenge of the journey might not be solving an ancient puzzle but learning to heal their own broken hearts…

Tina Connolly (2012)

Seriously Shifted
Tor Teen, November 1, 2016
Hardcover and eBook, 240 pages

A sparkling new adventure about teen witch Camellia and her mother, wicked witch Sarmine, introduced to readers in Seriously Wicked

Teenage witch Cam isn’t crazy about the idea of learning magic. She’d rather be no witch than a bad one. But when a trio of her mother’s wicked witch friends decide to wreak havoc in her high school, Cam has no choice but to try to stop them.

Now Cam’s learning invisibility spells, dodging exploding cars, and pondering the ethics of love potions. All while trying to keep her grades up and go on a first date with her crush. If the witches don’t get him first, that is.

Can’t a good witch ever catch a break?

T. Frohock (2011)

The Second Death
Los Nefilim: Part Three
Harper Voyager Impulse, March 29, 2016
eBook, 128 pages

Save the world, or save his family…

For Diago Alvarez, that’s the choice before him. For unless he wants to see his son Rafael die, he must do the unthinkable:

Help the Nazis receive the plans to the ultimate weapon.

And while Diago grows more comfortable not only with his heritage, but also with his place among Guillermo’s Los Nefilim, he is still unsure if he truly belongs amongst them.

In a frantic race to save the future of humanity, Diago is forced to rely on his daimonic nature to deceive an angel. In doing so, he discovers the birth of a modern god—one that will bring about a new world order from which no one can escape.

The Second Death is the final chapter in T. Frohock’s haunting and lyrical Los Nefilim trilogy, which bestselling author Mark Lawrence has called “a joy to read.”

Emmi Itäranta (2014)

The Weaver
Harper Voyager, May 24, 2016
Trade Paperback and eBook, 304 pages

The author of the critically acclaimed Memory of Water returns with this literary ecological tale in the vein of Ursula K. Le Guin and Sheri S. Tepper, in which an innocent young woman becomes entangled in a web of ancient secrets and deadly lies that lie at the dark center of her prosperous island world.

Eliana is a model citizen of the island, a weaver in the prestigious House of Webs. She also harbors a dangerous secret—she can dream, an ability forbidden by the island’s elusive council of elders. No one talks about the dreamers, the undesirables ostracized from society.

But the web of protection Eliana has woven around herself begins to unravel when a young girl is found lying unconscious in a pool of blood on the stones outside the house. Robbed of speech by her attackers, the only clue to her identity is one word tattooed in invisible ink across her palm: Eliana. Why does this mysterious girl bear her name? What links her to the weaver—and could she hold Eliana’s fate in her hand?

As Eliana finds herself growing closer to this injured girl she is bound to in ways she doesn’t understand, the enchanting lies of the island begin to crumble, revealing a deep and ancient corruption. Joining a band of brave rebels determined to expose the island’s dark secrets, Eliana becomes a target of ruthless forces determined to destroy her. To save herself and those she loves, she must call on the power within her she thought was her greatest weakness: her dreams.


Post a Comment