Wednesday, April 20, 2016

What's Up for the Debut Author Challenge Authors? - Part 49

This is the forty-ninth in a series of updates about formerly featured Debut Author Challenge authors and their 2015 works published since the last update and any upcoming works for 2016. The year in parentheses after the author's name is the year she/he was featured in the Debut Author Challenge.

This Update includes covers that have recently been revealed (by the author or publisher) for books already mentioned in a previous update and/or new books.

Part 1 herePart 11 herePart 21 herePart 31 herePart 41 here
Part 2 herePart 12 herePart 22 herePart 32 herePart 42 here
Part 3 herePart 13 herePart 23 herePart 33 herePart 43 here
Part 4 herePart 14 herePart 24 herePart 34 herePart 44 here
Part 5 herePart 15 herePart 25 herePart 35 herePart 45 here
Part 6 herePart 16 herePart 26 herePart 36 herePart 46 here
Part 7 herePart 17 herePart 27 herePart 37 herePart 47 here
Part 8 herePart 18 herePart 28 herePart 38 herePart 48 here
Part 9 herePart 19 herePart 29 herePart 39 here
Part 10 herePart 20 herePart 30 herePart 40 here

Ilana C. Myer (2015)

Last Song Before Night
Tor Books, November 8, 2016
Trade Paperback, 432 pages
Hardcover and eBook, September 29, 2015

A high fantasy following a young woman's defiance of her culture as she undertakes a dangerous quest to restore her world's lost magic in Ilana C. Myer's Last Song Before Night.

Her name was Kimbralin Amaristoth: sister to a cruel brother, daughter of a hateful family. But that name she has forsworn, and now she is simply Lin, a musician and lyricist of uncommon ability in a land where women are forbidden to answer such callings-a fugitive who must conceal her identity or risk imprisonment and even death.

On the eve of a great festival, Lin learns that an ancient scourge has returned to the land of Eivar, a pandemic both deadly and unnatural. Its resurgence brings with it the memory of an apocalypse that transformed half a continent. Long ago, magic was everywhere, rising from artistic expression-from song, from verse, from stories. But in Eivar, where poets once wove enchantments from their words and harps, the power was lost. Forbidden experiments in blood divination unleashed the plague that is remembered as the Red Death, killing thousands before it was stopped, and Eivar's connection to the Otherworld from which all enchantment flowed, broken.

The Red Death's return can mean only one thing: someone is spilling innocent blood in order to master dark magic. Now poets who thought only to gain fame for their songs face a challenge much greater: galvanized by Valanir Ocune, greatest Seer of the age, Lin and several others set out to reclaim their legacy and reopen the way to the Otherworld-a quest that will test their deepest desires, imperil their lives, and decide the future.
[description from Hardcover]

Adam Rakunas (2015)

Like A Boss
Angry Robot Books, June 7, 2016
    Mass Market Paperback (US), 384 pages
Angry Robot Books, June 2, 2016
   Paperback (UK) and eBook

In this breathless and hilarious followup to Windswept, former labor organiser Padma’s worst nightmare comes true: she gets yanked out of early retirement.

After buying her favourite rum distillery and settling down, she thought she’d heard the last of her arch nemesis, Evanrute Saarien. But Saarien, fresh out of prison for his misdeeds in Windswept, has just fabricated a new religion, positioning himself as its holy leader. He’s telling his congregation to go on strike, to fight the system. And unfortunately, they’re listening to him.

Now Padma’s summoned by the Union president to help stop this strike from happening. The problem is, she’s out of practice. And, the more she digs, the more she realises this whole strike business is more complicated than the Union president let on…

File Under: Science Fiction [ Fraud Almighty / City on Fire / Let’s Be Reasonable Please / All Outta Bubble Gum ]

Ferrett Steinmetz (2015)

'Mancer 3
Angry Robot Books, September 1, 2016
    Mass Market Paperback (US) and eBook, 384 pages
Angry Robot Books, September 6, 2016
   Paperback (UK)

America’s long sent its best SMASH agents overseas to deal with the European crisis. As of today, they decided dismantling your operation was more important than containing the Bastogne Broach. Now you’re dealing with the real professionals.

Paul Tsabo: Bureaucromancer. Political activist. Loving father. His efforts to decriminalize magic have made him the government’s #1 enemy – and his fugitive existence has robbed his daughter of a normal life.

Aliyah Tsabo-Dawson: Videogamemancer. Gifted unearthly powers by a terrorist’s magic. Raised by a family of magicians, she’s the world’s loneliest teenager – because her powers might kill anyone she befriends.

The Unimancers: Brain-burned zombies. Former ‘mancers, tortured into becoming agents of the government’s anti-‘mancer squad. An unstoppable hive-mind.

When Paul accidentally opens up the first unsealed dimensional broach on American soil, the Unimancers lead his family in a cat-and-mouse pursuit all the way to the demon-haunted ruins of Europe – where Aliyah is slowly corrupted by the siren call of the Unimancers…

File Under: Urban Fantasy

Auralee Wallace (2014)

Pumpkin Picking with Murder
An Otter Lake Mystery 2
St. Martin's Paperbacks, August 2016
Mass Market Paperback and eBook, 336 pages

When murder strikes in the Tunnel of Love, Erica Bloom has to rock the boat to catch a killer…

For a small town like Otter Lake, New Hampshire, the annual Fall Festival is a big deal: a Ferris wheel, corn maze, caramel apples, and pumpkin pies—even a Tunnel of Love. Back in her hometown, Erica Bloom is trying to enjoy herself, which includes getting better acquainted with Sheriff Grady Forrester. But when a swan boat sails out of the heart-shaped exit of the tunnel with a dead man slumped over a wing, her own romance will have to take a backseat.


Speaking of love affairs, the other passenger in the boat—and only witness to the elderly Mr. Masterson’s swan song—is not his wife. It’s Erica’s beloved and feisty “aunt,” Tweety, who quickly becomes the prime suspect. Vowing to clear Tweety, Erica teams up with her sassy BFF and self-appointed security expert Freddie Ng to solve the murder—despite the objections of Grady, who’s convinced the amateurs are going overboard in their investigation. And he just may be right. But as Erica and Freddie start to dredge up long-kept small-town secrets, will they heading straight into troubled waters?

Pumpkin Picking with Murder is the second book in Auralee Wallace's Otter Lake Mystery series!

Max Wirestone (2015)

The Unfortunate Decisions of Dahlia Moss
Redhook, September 20, 2016
Trade Paperback, 320 pages
Hardcover and eBook, October 20, 2015

The perfect mystery for anyone who has ever geeked out about something and for fans of The Guild, New Girl, Scott Pilgrim, Big Bang Theory, Veronica Mars.
Meet Dahlia Moss, the reigning queen of unfortunate decision-making in the St. Louis area. She is unemployed, broke, and on her last bowl of ramen. But that's all about to change.

Before Dahlia can make her life any messier on her own she's offered a job. A job that she's woefully under-qualified for. A job that will lead her to a murder, an MMORPG, and possibly a fella (or two?).


Post a Comment