Monday, October 10, 2016

What's Up for the Debut Author Challenge Authors? - Part 7

This is the seventh in this new series of updates about formerly featured Debut Author Challenge authors and their works published since their last update. The year in parentheses after the author's name is the year that author was featured in the Debut Author Challenge.

Part 1 here Part 11 here Part 21 here Part 31 here Part 41 here
Part 2 here Part 12 here Part 22 here Part 32 here Part 42 here
Part 3 here Part 13 here Part 23 here Part 33 here Part 43 here
Part 4 here Part 14 here Part 24 here Part 34 here Part 44 here
Part 5 here Part 15 here Part 25 here Part 35 here Part 45 here
Part 6 here Part 16 here Part 26 here Part 36 here Part 46 here
Part 7 here Part 17 here Part 27 here Part 37 here Part 47 here
Part 8 here Part 18 here Part 28 here Part 38 here Part 48 here
Part 9 here Part 19 here Part 29 here Part 39 here Part 49 here
Part 10 here Part 20 here Part 30 here Part 40 here Part 50 here

Amanda Carlson (2012)

A Phoebe Meadows Novel 1
May 24, 2016
eBook and Trade Paperback, 329 pages

When Phoebe Meadows gets struck by a strange light in the stockroom of Macy’s, life as she knows it flies out the window. As if being hit by lightning isn’t bad enough, she’s accosted in the subway by a man with a missing hand, arrives home to find a raven on her kitchen counter, and her neighbor, Ingrid, shows up dressed like a gladiator hell-bent on protecting her.

Before Ingrid can shuttle her to safety, Phoebe is kidnapped and tossed into one of the Nine Worlds where she’s quickly forced to come to terms with what she is: A valkyrie. The only problem is, she has no idea what that means.

After a narrow escape, she finds an unlikely ally in Loki’s son, Fenrir. Together the valkyrie and the wolf must battle their way back to New York City and reach the valkyrie stronghold where Ingrid is waiting for her. But with danger and obstacles at every turn, she might not live long enough to learn the full truth about who and what she really is…

A Phoebe Meadows Novel 2
September 18, 2016
eBook and Trade Paperback, 254 pages

Phoebe Meadows has one thing on her mind: Free her mother.

For the last month, Phoebe has been training in the Valkyrie stronghold readying for battle. But when she stumbles into a secluded valley after a day of grueling practice, she’s given a dire prediction. Phoebe must leave the stronghold immediately with the aid of the giant, Junnal, to rescue her mother from the dark elves. If Phoebe fails, Leela will be transported to a place that can no longer be reached.

Leaving Fen behind threatens to undo her, but Phoebe stays true to the mission. Along the way, she allies with the god Baldur and an old white elf mage. Together, they storm the realm, and with the help of an angry wolf and her Valkyrie sisters, they just might stand a chance to free the valiant shieldmaiden.

But Phoebe soon learns that rescuing her mother comes with a price, and she’s about to lose something too precious to sacrifice…

Dana Chamblee Carpenter (2015)

Bohemian Gospel
Bohemian Gospel 1
Pegasus, October 25, 2016
Trade Paperback, 400 pages
Hardcover and eBook, November 16, 2016

Set against the historical reign of the Golden and Iron King, Bohemian Gospel is the remarkable tale of a bold and unusual girl on a quest to uncover her past and define her destiny.

Thirteenth-century Bohemia is a dangerous place for a girl, especially one as odd as Mouse, born with unnatural senses and an uncanny intellect. Some call her a witch. Others call her an angel. Even Mouse doesn’t know who—or what—she is. But she means to find out.

When young King Ottakar shows up at the Abbey wounded by a traitor's arrow, Mouse breaks church law to save him and then agrees to accompany him back to Prague as his personal healer. Caught in the undertow of court politics at the castle, Ottakar and Mouse find themselves drawn to each other as they work to uncover the threat against him and to unravel the mystery of her past. But when Mouse's unusual gifts give rise to a violence and strength that surprise everyone—especially herself—she is forced to ask herself: Will she be prepared for the future that awaits her?

A heart-thumping, highly original tale in the vein of Elizabeth Kostova's The Historian, Bohemian Gospel heralds the arrival of a fresh new voice for historical fiction.

The Devil's Bible
Bohemian Gospel 2
Pegasus, March 7, 2017
Hardcover and eBook, 400 pages

The propulsive follow-up to Bohemian Gospel, which sends Mouse on a dangerous journey to Europe to find the missing pages from The Devil’s Bible—a mission which just may have a chance to save the world from the forces of evil.

She calls herself Emma Lucas and, to the outsider, she looks just like a normal professor at a Nashville university. But Mouse has a secret she’s spent the last 700 years trying to hide—and that secret threatens to be revealed when one of her former students arrives in town to promote his controversial new book. He’d been fascinated with The Devil’s Bible ever since Mouse had mentioned it to him in class years earlier—perhaps even saying a bit too much and indicating her own involvement with the creation of the notorious religious relic. And with this new book out and more attention sent her way, it’s not long before the man she’d been hiding from her whole life — her father — finds her, too.

Trying to stay two steps ahead of her father, Mouse flees to Europe, to find the only thing that matters more to him than she does: The long-missing pages of The Devil’s Bible, which hold a power even she doesn’t completely understand. All that she knows is that she has to find them before he gets there.

In a journey that takes her to Rome for a showdown with the Vatican and to Prague, where she is forced to confront memories she’s spent nearly a millennium trying to forget, Mouse is headed toward one shocking confrontation with her father which will decide not only Mouse’s fate, but that of the rest of the world…

Beth Cato (2014)

Deep Roots
Clockwork Dagger Stories
Harper Voyager Impulse, August 2, 2016
Mass Market Paperback and eBook, 208 pages

From the author of The Clockwork Dagger and The Clockwork Crown comes a compilation of short works set in the same world: The Deepest Poison, Final Flight, and the Nebula-nominated Wings of Sorrow and Bone.


Octavia Leander, a young healer with incredible powers, has found her place among Miss Percival’s medicians-in-training. Called to the front lines of war, the two women must uncover the source of a devastating illness that is killing thousands of soldiers.


After being rescued from the slums of Caskentia, Rivka Stout is adjusting to her new life in Tamarania. But when Rivka stumbles into a laboratory run by the powerful Balthazar Cody, she also discovers a sinister plot involving chimera gremlins and the violent Arena game Warriors.


Captain Hue hoped he was rid of his troubles once Octavia Leander and Alonzo Garrett disembarked from his airship, but then the Argus is commandeered by a Clockwork Dagger and forced on a deadly mission. Hue must lead a mutiny that might bring down his own ship…. perhaps for good.

Breath of Earth
Harper Voyager, August 23, 2016
Trade Paperback and eBook, 362 pages

After the earth’s power under her city is suddenly left unprotected, a young geomancer must rely on her unique magic to survive in this fresh fantasy standalone from the author of the acclaimed The Clockwork Dagger.

In an alternate 1906, the United States and Japan have forged a powerful confederation— the Unified Pacific—in an attempt to dominate the world. Their first target is a vulnerable China. In San Francisco, headstrong secretary Ingrid Carmichael is assisting a group of powerful geomancer wardens who have no idea of the depth of her own talent—or that she is the only woman to possess such skills.

When assassins kill the wardens, Ingrid and her mentor are protected by her incredible magic. But the pair is far from safe. Without its full force of guardian geomancers, the city is on the brink of a cataclysmic earthquake that will expose the earth’s power to masterminds determined to control the energy for their own dark ends. The danger escalates when Chinese refugees, preparing to fight the encroaching American and Japanese forces, fracture the uneasy alliance between the Pacific allies, transforming San Francisco into a veritable powder keg. And the slightest tremor will set it off. . . .

Forced on the run, Ingrid makes some shocking discoveries about herself. Her already considerable magic has grown even more fearsome . . . and she may be the fulcrum on which the balance of world power rests.

Catherine Cerveny (2016)

The Chaos of Luck
A Felicia Sevigny Novel 2
Redhook, December 6, 2016
eBook, 384 pages

A whirlwind thriller romance in a futuristic setting that will tug at your heartstrings while sending you on high-speed chases alongside a genetically-enhanced (and incredibly handsome...) criminal mastermind.

Felicia Sevigny makes her own luck. So it's no surprise that her new life on the Red Planet is off to a good start. She's making a living reading the fortunes of the fabulously wealthy, and making a home with Alexei, the dangerous, handsome love of her life.

Then Alexei is called off planet expectedly, mines in the astroid belt start collapsing, and an ex-lover walks back into Felicia's life. Felicia's readings predict that there is something bigger going on. Something darker and far more insidious that threatens everything she has come to love.

And as luck would have it, the cards are right for things to go horribly wrong.

Kristi Charish (2015)

Owl and the Electric Samurai
The Owl Series 3
Gallery Books, May 9, 2017
      Trade Paperback, 416 pages
Pocket Star, August 22, 2016
      eBook, 416 pages

The third exciting novel starring the unforgettable antiquities thief Owl—a modern-day “Indiana Jane” who reluctantly navigates the hidden supernatural world. From the pen of rising urban fantasy star Kristi Charish, this fast-paced novel is for fans of Kim Harrison, Jim Butcher, Jennifer Estep, Jenn Bennett, and fantasy lovers everywhere.

The International Archaeology Association (IAA) is responsible for keeping all things supernatural under wraps. They’re also responsible for ruining the promising archaeology career of Alix Hiboux, better known as Owl.

Needless to say, Owl’s still a little sore about that.

Just to keep Owl’s life lively, the IAA has opened a bounty on the two designers of World Quest, the online RPG that is much, much more than it seems. Owl needs to locate the notorious gaming duo before the other mercenaries do. But finding the gamers won’t be easy since every clue points to them hiding out in the legendary lost city of Shangri-La. Not to mention that the last time Owl and the game designers spoke, their conversation didn’t exactly end on the best note…

Meanwhile, undercurrents of supernatural politics are running amok in Tokyo, dragging Owl and her friends into a deadly game of wits with an opponent who calls himself the Electric Samurai. The cost of losing? All-out civil war between two powerful supernatural factions.

All in all, just another great day on the job.


Post a Comment